‘Achievement’

Climbing is a great leveller. We are not trying to beat others (most of the time). All we are doing is challenging ourselves. To reach a grade, to get to the top of a wall or just to be fit.  It is a very personal sport. This was brought home to me this weekend when I watched a friend top out a 6a+ up the main wall at Leeds.  To me it’s a warm up but his shout of success at the top, watching him shake with exhaustion and commit to moves inspired me. I talk about my grades on here, and I follow people who are climbing silly high grades, but nothing separates us. We are all just trying to achieve personal goals

Happy climbing people

X

One thought on “‘Achievement’”

  1. Yeah, much as I’d love to be a better climber (and don’t think I’ll really improve as I age and get less supple), I still enjoy watching other people succeed at the harder stuff rather than being jealous like I might be in many other sports.

    Like

Leave a Reply

